top of page
Search

A Dollar Tree Pumpkin gets a "NAUTICAL" makeover

Updated: Sep 15, 2021

Boy this was a challenging project. Still can't believe I pulled it off. I'm loving the natural creme color nautical rope from Dollar Tree. I came up with this brilliant idea to cover a small plastic Dollar Tree pumpkin in the nautical rope. (Not so brilliant when I was pulling my hair out the whole time😂) I don't recommend the shape pumpkin I chose for this project. You definitely want a more wider and round pumpkin shape. I've seen a lot of group members covering the large orange foam pumpkin from Dt with a Dollar Tree mop head. That shape probably won't give you as much grief. I do suggest buying several packages of the nautical rope for that style pumpkin. For this DIY I only needed one package. I cut the rope in pieces to fit the top and bottom of the pumpkin. I directly put a line of hot glue on the plastic pumpkin for each piece of rope. Repeating till I covered the whole pumpkin. Due to the shape of this pumpkin the nautical rope's pattern is different in the back while the sides and front all flow the same way. For the stem of the pumpkin I used a Dollar Tree wood stem. Since the pumpkin is styrofoam inside it was easy to stab a nice whole in the pumpkin to place the wood stem. To doll the pumpkin up I kept it simple with colored rafia. I also cut the the tip of a mini pinecone and added that to center of the rafia. To all good luck on this one. My moto is "When there is a will there is a way". I won't stop till I get it right", I think I got it right🤣











28,959 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page