top of page
Search

Mini Fall Frame Accent Perfect for A Tiered Tray

Updated: Sep 24, 2022


Looking for the perfect Fall accent well look no further. I created this easy Diy to add to my Fall tiered tray. Pretty much all the materials I used were in my craft stash. Two of the main items I used for this project were from the Dollar Tree. The popular 4x6 galvanized frame and the 2022 Farm Fresh calendar. My first step in this project was removing the galvanized metal background from the frame. My plan was using scrapbook paper as the background instead of the original metal piece. I found a not so busy paper that was the perfect fit for this project. I wasn't feeling the frame in it's original color so I decided to white wash it with acrylic white paint. It definitely made the orange paper stand out more. If your not familiar with white washing it's fairly simple to do. The technique I use is adding a few drops of water to acrylic or chalk paint in a bowl. Then using a rag or paper towel I dip it into the diluted paint and generously rub it around all the sides of the frame or wood surface your using. I repeated it a few times till I got the right effect I was looking for. I also distressed the frame sides with sandpaper after the paint dried. The next step was adding the scrapbook paper to frame. I lightly glued it to the back part of the frame(the piece that props it up). Since there won't be a extra insert in the frame to keep it tight you can use hot glue around all four sides in the back so it's not loose. So the main feature of this frame is from the Dollar Tree calendar. On the back of the calendar is thumbnail pictures of all the months. Make sure to take your time and carefully cut it out. I was bored with just gluing the Fall themed thumbnail to the center of the scrapbook paper so I made it pop by framing it with a piece of burlap. Using Elmer's glue I attached the calendar thumbnail to the burlap. The glue was then used again on back of burlap to attach to background paper. To finish off this project my last step was dolling up the frame with a messy bow.(you can find many video tutorials online on how to make a messy bow) I picked out several fall plaid ribbon scraps to make it. As a added feature I glued a fall berry from a faux floral pick to the center of the ribbon. To attach the bow to top of frame I used Elmer's glue. I'm real pleased how this turned out and was so happy that I was able to incorporate it in my Fall themed tiered tray. This accent will also look great displayed on a shelf or mantle if tiered trays aren't your thing. The ideas are limitless using these frames plus Dollar Tree has their new 2023 calendars out with more pictures to choose from. I've been so busy juggling my day job and my Etsy shop that I haven' had time to visit a DollarTree for the the new calendars. I better get cracking soon. They sell like hot cakes.

🍂Hope you enjoyed this diy!

Happy Fall Y'all and thanks as alway for visting🍂

PS: Stay tuned for my next blog post, My completed 2022 Fall tiered tray.

Galvanized frame. You will need a very small screwdriver to remove the little clip


Bag O' Ribbon🤣 These scraps come in handy with alot of my creations



149 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page