top of page
Search

Patriotic Windmill

Last year I purchased a decorative windmill online that unfortunately wasn't the right size for the plans I had in store for it. I ended up throwing it in a box and to the attic it went. So I've been on a Patriotic diy frenzy. Browsing through ideas on Pinterest I came upon a real cute Patriotic windmill. I then remembered I had that windmill collecting dust in my attic. I thought this would be a great idea and pretty much had all the materials to create it. The windmill picture that inspired me had a American flag theme. The left side had a portion where a few blades were painted in blue and all the other blades were in red and white. I painted each color separately. My plan was changing up my traditional red and blue acrylic paints with more of a rustic look. Mixing a few other colors I was able to achieve the shade I wanted. Once the blades were dry I used sandpaper only on the blue and red blades to give it a distressed look. My next step was adding white stars to the three blue blades. My original plan was using small wood stars but they ended up making the three blades look to busy. I enlisted my Cricut to do the job. I was able to choose the right sized stars that would work perfectly on the windmill. To complete my project I added the Dollar Tree metal " Welcome" saying to the windmill. I gave it two coats of Sheepskin chalkpaint from Folkart. It was attached using two pieces of metal wire on each side. Really loving how this turned out. Great addition to my door and what a way to show your patriotism.












884 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Komentar


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page