top of page
Search

Patriotic Wine Cork Flag

Updated: Jul 12, 2020

A friend gave me a nice full bag of wine corks back last Fall. I've done quite a few holiday wine cork themed projects. After browsing Pinterest I saw a wine cork flag that I wanted to give a shot. So I could post it on my Dollar Tree groups I came up with some clever items to incorporate in the DIY. To start off I needed 35 wine corks for this project. Each color was done separately. Starting with the red and blue colors I added a little black acrylic paint to give it more of a primitive look. 8 corks were fully painted in blue and 16 corks were fully painted in red. The remaining 11 corks I decided against painting entirely white. Instead I lightly gave each one a brush of white paint and rubbed it completely around the whole wine cork. While they were drying I came up with the idea to use this Dollar Tree borderless chalkboard to affix the corks. I measured the flag first which was 5 1/2" X 7 1/2" . The chalkboard was slightly bigger so I trimmed the sides with a box cutter. Once wine corks were dry, gluing them to chalkboard was the next step. These wine corks are synthetic so I don't recommend using hot glue. Elmer's glue by far is your best bet. Elmer's glue takes a few hours to set so you definitely have to have some patience. I waited about 3 hours and then came back to the flag for the final steps. Now this idea I came up was real outside of the box. My plan was to cut small white stars on my Cricut using vinyl adhesive but instead I thought it would be cool using Dollar Tree vinyl top liner to cut them out. I switched out my fine point blade and put in the deep point so it would cut properly. The Cricut was set on the custom setting. They came out perfect. Each one got a dot of Elmer's glue and was added to the 8 blue wine corks. I wanted the flag to

hang so I used thick jute twine that I removed from a Dollar Tree galvanized pail. All I had in my supplies was the regular thin jute twine. Super loving this and quite happy I pulled off this inspired project.
















621 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page