top of page
Search

Tiered Tray Craze

Updated: Jul 3, 2020

Would you believe I'm a newbie to the tiered tray decor. I joined the bandwagon last December. Boy how things have changed in a year. My first tier tray stand was bought from Pier 1. It has a very unique look with a combination of galvanized metal and wood.The problem with that tray was the tiers were not flat which made for difficult decorating. I look back on my first tiered tray and pretty much laugh at my rookie skills. I dare not post my first decor tier tray. So when the next big holiday came around which was Easter I was on a mission to find a new inexpensive tier tray that could hold a lot of stuff and keep that stuff in place. So I ended up getting real lucky and found a thrifted tier tray from a reclaim/salvage warehouse in my town called Second Chance. The tray was huge. Definitely very unique and not like the common ones on the net. I wasn't thrilled with the original dark brown color but I knew that would be a easy fix. I ended up paying only $10 for it. Definitely a steal. So the tray got a nice new paint job. I chose Rust-Oleum's "Plaster" chalk paint spray, which is basically white. The three pics shown below are the before, after and my completed 2019 Easter Decor Tray.

So my tier tray saga continues. After being in many Diy groups and seeing so many people making their own trays with a variety of items I decided to give it a shot. Stopped in my local thrift store and obsessively searched for three plates in different sizes. I decided on a three tier. I picked up a small appetizer plate, medium size plate and a charger plate. The popular diy trays on the group normally use the pie or pizza pans. So I had half of my project items next was finding the post to support the plates. I had no luck finding a pair of candle holders at the thrift store and I opted against the popular item everyone was using at the time which was the vintage milk bottles. So I went home empty handed. So how funny is this, the materials to complete my tier tray were right in my house. Digging through old boxes of decor items in my attic I found some metal scrolled candle holders I purchased like 20 years ago. My mind started that "What if" again. Rushing out of the attic I hurried to get the plates and put it all together. Let's say I was freaked out. Not only did it look pretty awesome but it was surely one of a kind. Here is a picture of my first official diy tier tray. I decorated it for Summer and Fall.

Stay tuned!!! I recently made a new tier tray and will be posting it in a blog very soon with my completed Christmas tray. Thanks for reading😀😀😀

11,157 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page